NIGHT SINS - Original Soundtrack by Mark Snow



CD Includes Digital Download/Digital PDF Booklet
Click here for Digital-Only Download

BUYSOUNDTRAX Records presents NIGHT SINS, featuring music composed by Mark Snow for the 1997 television mini-series directed by Robert Allan Ackerman (LIFE WITH JUDY GARLAND, THE RAMEN GIRL), written by John Leekley (WOLF LAKE, KINDRED: THE EMBRACED), starring Harry Hamlin (VERONICA MARS, L.A. LAW, CLASH OF THE TITANS), Valerie Bertinelli (TOUCHED BY AN ANGEL, ONE DAY AT A TIME), along with Karen Sillas, Martin Donovan, William Russ, Colm Feore, Mariska Hargitay and Jeffrey DeMunn.

Based on the novel by best-selling romance and thriller writer Tami Hoag, NIGHT SINS was a four hour mini-series broadcast on the CBS network in 1997. NIGHT SINS takes place in the small town of Deer Lake, where the investigation into the recent abduction of a young boy becomes the catalyst for a progressively bizarre and disturbing exposé of small town corruption, hypocrisy and perversion that extends back across decades. Reassigned from the big city to take over the investigation from another agent is Seattle Bureau Of Investigation Agent Megan O’Malley (Bertinelli), who finds herself thrown together with Mitch Holt, Deer Lake’s chief of police. Holt, who lost his wife and daughter years ago to a vicious killer, is still haunted by his inability to save them from their fate and may even be a potential suspect himself. As the investigation proceeds, O’Malley and Holt struggle with their mutual attraction and try to stay focused on their work.

In 1993, composer Mark Snow began a fruitful creative collaboration with producer Chris Carter on THE X-FILES, which culminated in a unique marriage of music and macabre storytelling. Snow’s work on THE X-FILES put him on the Hollywood scoring map, offering up a unique mix of atmospheric sound design and affecting layers of ambient melody on a weekly basis and this sound became very much in demand in the industry. Of the many television movies Snow scored in the 1990’s, NIGHT SINS comes the closest to his work on THE X-FILES and contains many of his signature stylings. For NIGHT SINS, the composer wanted “a somber, elegiac, almost medieval sound for the religious overtones of the story, mixed with a lot of scary, dark atmosphere”. The final result is an electronic score augmented by piano, harp and xylophone, marking NIGHT SINS as a close relative to THE X-FILES and should appeal to fans of Snow’s work on that show.

Mark Snow is primarily known for his work in the medium of television, including many seasons of music scoring for shows such as THE X-FILES, MILLENNIUM, SMALLVILLE, GHOST WHISPERER, NOWHERE MAN and many others. Mark is considered one of television’s most capable composers. The large percentage of his musical output has centered around the subjects of the supernatural, the macabre and outright science fiction or dark fantasy but there have been occasions for him to break out and work on other projects, such as PRIVATE FEARS IN PUBLIC PLACES and WILD GRASS for Alain Resnais, the great French director.

Mark Snow has worked on more than a hundred television movies and series, PC games and feature films including THE X-FILES, MILLENNIUM, SMALLVILLE, GHOST WHISPERER, NOWHERE MAN and the recent THE X-FILES: I WANT TO BELIEVE feature film. Mark has been nominated for 14 Primetime Emmy awards since 1984 and won at least 19 ASCAP awards. The composer is also a founding member of the legendary New York Rock'n'Roll ensemble, along with fellow composer Michael Kamen. The band was signed to Atlantic Records and Mark toured and recorded with them for 5 years before turning his focus to writing music for film and television.

BUYSOUNDTRAX Records presents the original motion picture soundtrack to NIGHT SINS, featuring music composed by Mark Snow. NIGHT SINS is a limited edition release of 1000 units. 

2. Wicked Daughter Of Eve (8:42)
3. The Game Begins (3:12)
4. Innocence Is Sin (1:45)
5. Sniffing (3:44)
8. Notes (4:47)
9. His Name Is Billy (2:30)
10. Tears and Fears (5:48)
11. Father Tom (3:27)
12. Loners (2:54)
13. Lost Angels (2:37)
14. White Van (1:27)
15. Accusations (1:52)
16. Predators (9:43)

Total Time: (61:59)