DIE MOMMIE DIE - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Dennis McCarthy

Dragon's Domain Records


CD includes Digital Download / Digital PDF 

Dragon’s Domain Records presents DIE, MOMMIE DIE!, featuring music composed by Dennis McCarthy (STAR TREK: THE NEXT GENERATION, STAR TREK: DEEP SPACE NINE, V: THE FINAL BATTLE, MACGYVER) for the 2003 comedy directed by Mark Rucker, written by Charles Busch, starring Charles Busch, Natasha Lyonne, Jason Priestley, Angela Paton, Frances Conroy and Philip Baker Hall. 

DIE MOMMIE DIE! (2003) is a romantic comedy/murder mystery written by and starring female impersonator Charles Busch. Created as a parody/homage to 1950s and ‘60s women’s melodramas, the film is lightly humorous with plenty of dark comedy as it tells the story of fallen pop diva Angela Arden, who schemes to murder her inattentive and berating husband Sol in order to be with her young gigolo lover Tony, only to have his daughter Edith and their son Lance interfere with her carefully wrought plans.

The film’s musical score is the work of Dennis McCarthy, best known for scoring more than 250 episodes of STAR TREK across four iterations after the original series, THE NEXT GENERATION, VOYAGER, DEEP SPACE NINE and ENTERPRISE. During the 1980’s through the 2000’s, McCarthy was among the most durable and dependable TV composers in the business. From his experience scoring romantic suspense TV movies, McCarthy immediately understood the kind of musical treatment this film needed. McCarthy’s music budget for this film accommodated an orchestra of some 30 instruments; to that group he added a 15-player rhythm section to handle unique flavors and beats as needed. While the orchestral ensemble creates the tension, drama, and mood of the story, the rhythm section defines the period and maintains the rhythm, color, and groove throughout the music cues. 

Dragon’s Domain Records, to be distributed by BuySoundtrax, presents the world premiere release of DIE, MOMMIE, DIE!, featuring music composed by Dennis McCarthy, mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland. The booklet contains liner notes written by noted author Randall Larson, featuring the participation of the composer.

DIE, MOMMIE, DIE! is a limited edition of 500 units. 

1. Why Not Me? (2:31)
Vocals by Ruth Williamson
2. Opening Credits (3:02)
3. Why Not Me? (Extended Alternate Version) (2:46)
Vocals by Ruth Williamson
4. Tony's Car/Back Home (0:54)
5. Daddy's Favorite Color (2:15)
6. I Hate My Mom (2:50)
7. A Life Sentence (2:56)
8. Mom and Lance Share Drinks (2:53)
9. The Poison and Family Dinner (3:40)
10. Death by Suppository (4:37)
11. Not to Be Trusted (2:28)
12. Shed Sex (2:15)
13. Memorial Service (1:53)
14. Sam's Steakhouse (1:17)
15. Mom and the Moving Men (0:50)
16. Stabbed and Back Home Again (1:38)
17. Murdering the Maid (2:01)
18. Shed Kiss and The Falling Body (2:48)
19. Tea Time and The LSD Trip (10:16)
20. The Truth Revealed (3:50)
21. Finale (6:04)
22. Why Not Me? (2:33)
Vocals by Todd Murray
23. Lance Rocks (0:38)
24. Motorcycle (0:30)
25. Elevator Muzak (0:31)
26. Car Source (0:23)
27. The Salt and Pepper Polka (0:35)
Vocals by Ruth Williamson
Total Time: 70:03