HARDLY WORKING-Original Soundtrack by Morton Stevens



(CD Comes W/Free Digital Download/Digital booklet)
Click here for Digital Only Version

BUYSOUNDTRAX Records presents the original soundtrack to HARDLY WORKING. The soundtrack features music composed by Morton Stevens for the 1980 comedy film directed by directed by and starring the great Jerry Lewis, along with Susan Oliver, Deanna Lund, Roger C. Carmel, Harold J. Stone, Steve Franken, Buddy Lester and Billy Barty.

HARDLY WORKING tells the story of Bo Hooper, a circus clown who loses his job when the circus closes down and has the worst luck ever trying to hold down a job. Seen as a comeback film after an absence of nearly a decade, HARDLY WORKING gave Lewis the opportunity to debut his style of slapstick and sentimental comedy for a new generation of moviegoers.

Morton Stevens was hired by Jerry Lewis to score the film and while he provided slightly comic or light-hearted music to accompany some of the film’s comedic set pieces, he avoided writing specific comedy music and chose to focus the score’s arc on the dramatic elements of the story. Steven’s central theme for Bo, apart from its introduction early in the film, is thoroughly heartfelt and captures the essence of the character. Lewis was so pleased with the score that he even took to the podium during one of the scoring sessions and conducted the orchestra during a couple of cues.

BUYSOUNDTRAX Records presents the world premiere soundtrack release of HARDLY WORKING, featuring music composed and conducted by Morton Stevens, including the complete orchestral score, along with the source music composed for the film as bonus tracks, professionally mastered by James Nelson of Digital Outland. The booklet contains liner notes written by noted author Randall D. Larson and includes comments from producer Igo Kantor. 

HARDLY WORKING is a limited edition release of 1000 units.

1. Main Title (1:39)
2. Uncle Bo (1:49)
3. Uncle Bo and the Little Girl (1:15)
4. The Gas Station Sequence (3:58)
5. Bartender Disco Music (1:19)
6. Japanese Cook Sequence (2:34)
7. Cigarette Bit (0:54)
8. J. Ballings (1:58)
9. Water Glass Bit / Post Office Exit (0:54)
10. Monty's Disco Time / Disco Time Dream Overlay (4:23)
11. First Day at the Post Office / Sorting The Mail (1:06)
12. Delivering The Mail / Mailbox Problems /  Delivering The Mail / Bo and the "Lady" (6:28
13. Dinner Source Music (3:02)
14. Beer Delivery (0:30)
15. Mail Sorting / Knocking The Lamp Over (2:47)
16. Evaluation Montage (1:39)
17. Interlude (1:35)
18. Parade of the Clown Mailman (2:55)
19. In To The Sunset / End Credits (3:30)

20. When The Saints Come Marching In (Badly) (0:33)
21. Crazy Clown Music (1:56)
22. Circus Organ Source (2:33)

Bonus Track
23. Parade of the Clown Mailman - Alternate (2:54)