JERRY GOLDSMITH COLLECTION, THE - Volume One: Rarities (Digital Download - 24 Bit Wavs, MP3s, Digital PDF)



BuySoundtrax Records is proud to present the release of THE JERRY GOLDSMITH COLLECTION - VOLUME 1: RARITIES. The album features ‘new recordings of rarely heard originals, and fresh takes on Goldsmith classics,” as described in the liner notes by noted film music journalist Jon Burlingame.

THE JERRY GOLDSMITH COLLECTION - VOLUME 1: RARITIES features 23 tracks of new recordings of some of Goldsmith’s rarely heard themes including a NEW recording of the score for SEVEN DAYS IN MAY arranged by Dominik Hauser, the main title for SHAMUS, the composer's unused theme for the modern crime thriller 2 DAYS IN THE VALLEY, “Comes The Night” from the rarely screened spy thriller SEBASTIAN, the theme from RIO CONCHOS in an exciting arrangement from composer Chuck Cirino, arranger Joohyun Park’s fresh takes on PSYCHO II and WARLOCK, vocalist Katie Campbell’s interpretation of the theme from THE ILLUSTRATED MAN, and “If We Could Remember”, a song from one of the composer's final films, THE SUM OF ALL FEARS. THE JERRY GOLDSMITH COLLECTION - VOLUME 1: RARITIES also includes music from SHAMUS, CHINATOWN, THE DETECTIVE, THE LIST OF ADRIAN MESSENGER, THE VANISHING, A PATCH OF BLUE, THE SAND PEBBLES, PLAYERS, THE OMEN, PAPILLON, POLTERGEIST and a new performance of the composer's Toccata for Solo Guitar performed by Gregg Nestor, who also performs on the main title for RIO LOBO.

Jerry Goldsmith was born in 1929 and as a child studied piano, composition and theory. After a stint taking classes in film composition taught by Miklós Rózsa at USC, he attended Los Angeles College. In 1950, Goldsmith was hired by CBS as a clerk typist for the music department. It was at CBS that he would get his start writing music for several television series.

In the early 1960s, Goldsmith moved more into the feature film realm, earning widespread acclaim for his score for the western LONELY ARE THE BRAVE and his first Academy Award nomination in 1962 with FREUD. Throughout his long career, Goldsmith would be nominated 17 more times, for A PATCH OF BLUE, THE SAND PEBBLES, PLANET OF THE APES, PATTON, PAPILLON, CHINATOWN, THE WIND AND THE LION, THE OMEN (nominated for original song and earning the award for Original Score), THE BOYS FROM BRAZIL, STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE, POLTERGEIST, UNDER FIRE, HOOSIERS, BASIC INSTINCT, L.A. CONFIDENTIAL and MULAN. He would also earn 5 Emmy Awards, for THE RED PONY, QB VII, BABE, MASADA and STAR TREK: VOYAGER. His credits also include beloved films and cult classics such as GREMLINS, RUDY, THE SECRET OF NIMH, FIRST BLOOD, TOTAL RECALL, BASIC INSTINCT, THE MUMMY, LOGAN'S RUN, THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERY and ALIEN.

Jon Burlingame writes, “this collection of newly recorded Goldsmith gems reminds us -- as if we needed reminding! -- that Jerry Goldsmith was not just a fine composer. He was a brilliant one, always serving the movie but at the same time creating music that could live apart from its celluloid origins. There was no one else quite like him.”

1. JUDGE DREDD: Trailer (0:55)
(arr. John Beal)

2. SEVEN DAYS IN MAY: Complete Score Suite (11:29)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Drums: Kurt Walther)

3. CHINATOWN: End Credits (2:01)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Trumpet, Roy Wiegand)

4. THE DETECTIVE: The Dark Song (3:02)
(Solo Piano performed by Mark Northam)

5. SHAMUS: Main Title (3:38)
(Arr. Dominik Hauser) 

6. TWO DAYS IN THE VALLEY: Unused Main Theme (2:26)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Trumpet, Roy Wiegand)

(arr. Chaz Grossman)

8. SEBASTIAN: Comes The Night (2:38)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Trumpet, Roy Wiegand)

9. THE VANISHING: No Coffee (End Credits) (3:07)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • John Rosenberg, Piano)

10. THE SUM OF ALL FEARS: If We Could Remember (3:29)
(arr. Dominik Hauser)

11. A PATCH OF BLUE: Main Theme (4:57)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Trumpet, Roy Wiegand)

12. THE SAND PEBBLES: And We Were Lovers (3:07) 
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Cello, Peggy Baldwin)

13. PLAYERS: Meant To Be (Love Theme) (3:27)
(Solo Piano performed by Mark Northam)

14. PAPILLON: Free As The Wind (2:12)
(arr. Dominik Hauser)

(arr. Gregg Nestor)

16. RIO LOBO: Main Title (2:47)
(arr. Gregg Nestor)

17. RIO CONCHOS: Main Title (2:35) 
(arr. Chuck Cirino) 

(arr. Dominik Hauser • Trumpet, Roy Wiegand)

19. WARLOCK: The Sentence (3:21) 
(arr. Joohyun Park)

20. PSYCHO 2: Main Theme (3:40) 
(arr. Joohyun Park)

21. THE OMEN: The Piper Dreams (2:54)
(arr. Dominik Hauser)

22. THE ILLUSTRATED MAN: Main Title (3:07)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Katie Campbell, Vocals)

23. POLTERGEIST: Carol Ann's Theme (3:21)
(arr. Dominik Hauser • Katie Campbell, Vocals)

Total Time: 77:41