CLIFFHANGERS: The Curse of Dracula - Music From The Television Series (2 CD SET)


Limited Edition of 1000 Units

FIVE JAYS MUSIC presents THE CURSE OF DRACULA, featuring music composed and conducted by Joe Harnell and additional music composed by Charles R. Cassey, Ira Hearshen and Les Baxter from the 1979 television anthology CLIFFHANGERS, written and directed by Kenneth Johnson (THE BIONIC MAN, THE INCREDIBLE HULK, V ñ The Original Mini-Series) starring Michael Nouri (THE HIDDEN, FLASHDANCE, DAMAGES) as Count Dracula, along with Stephen Johnson and Carol Baxter.

Written, produced and directed by television veteran Kenneth Johnson, THE CURSE OF DRACULA was one of three segments that played on the TV series CLIFFHANGERS in 1979. The show was inspired by and emulated the movie serials of the 1930s and 1940s. Under the umbrella title CLIFFHANGERS, three separate serialized made-for-TV movies would be told simultaneously, shown in separate 20-minute segments during each of the seriesí hour-long episodes. THE CURSE OF DRACULA was designed as an original horror serial starring Michael Nouri as Count Dracula, living undercover in modern day San Francisco, weary of immortality and seeking a woman to share a mortal life with.

FIVE JAYS MUSIC presents the original television soundtrack recording to THE CURSE OF DRACULA, mastered by Digital Outland, with liner notes by author Randall Larson. An early compact disc release of Joe Harnellís music included a short suite from THE CURSE OF DRACULA but this release contains all the music composed for the anthology segment for the first time, presented on 2 CDs, in loving memory of composers Joe Harnell and Les Baxter.

Disc 1

"LIFEBLOOD" (Composed by Joe Harnell)
1. Dracula’s Theme / Escape from the Burning Barn (03:33)
2. Night School with the Dracula / Tailing Dracula / Kurt Searches for Mary (02:52)
3. I Loved Your Mother (00:44)
4. Mary Trapped / Flaming Car / Episode Credits (04:21)

"BLOOD STREAM" (Composed by Joe Harnell)
5. Dracula Theme / Opening Narration/ Kurt Jumps Clear of the Flaming Car (04:48)
6. Mary’s Story (01:29)
7. The Crow / Coffin Time / To The Hospital / Mary Thinks of Dracula (02:18)
8. The Needle of Doom / Episode Credits (02:36)

"DEMONS IN THE DARK" (Composed by Les Baxter)
9. Dracula’s Theme / Opening Narration (01:06)
10. Unused Cue / C.H.i.P Pulls Over Dracula / C.H.i.P Snack / Mary Alone (06:12)
11. The Phone Call / Kurt Shows Up (01:32)
12. The Offer of Immortality / Dogs Attack Mary (02:36)

"DEPOSITORY OF DEATH" (Composed by Charles R. Cassey)
13. Dracula’s Theme / Opening Narration / Dracula Saves Mary from the Dogs / Dracula Saves the Day (04:37)
14. Mary Sees the Bite Marks (01:55)
15. Kurt Breaks In / Catwalk Accident / Mary Arrives / Mary’s Choice / Tune In Next Week (06:24)

"SEPULCHRE OF THE UNDEAD" (Composed by Les Baxter)
16. Dracula’s Theme / Opening Narration / Kurt Falls / Mary Resists (02:32)
17. I’m One of Them! / Dracula Calls Mary (02:08)
18. Enter Mary’s Mom / Kurt Drugged / Kurt Entombed / Tune In Next Week (03:56)

Disc 2
"THRESHOLD OF ETERNITY" (Composed by Ira Hearshen)
1. Dracula’s Theme and Opening Narration / Amanda Rescues Kurt (04:06)
2. Dracula and Mary / Mary Gives Herself to Dracula (05:24)
3. Kurt Breaks In / Mary’s Bloodlust / Tune In Next Week (02:26)

"WHERE ANGELS FEAR TO TREAD" (Composed by Les Baxter)
4. Dracula’s Theme and Opening Narration / Mary and Her Mom’s Reunion (04:50)
5. Kurt and Mary Kiss (00:49)
6. The Crow Returns / Dracula Wants You to Kill Mary / Coffin Awakening (02:03)
7. Dracula and Amanda / Deathtrap for Dracula / Tune In Next Week (04:43)

"SEALED IN BLOOD" (Composed by Ira Hearshen)
8. Dracula’s Theme and Opening Narration / Dracula Escapes (05:12)
9. Attempt on Mary’s Life and Escape (02:18)
10. The Girl is in Great Danger / Dracula Finds Mary / Tune In Next Week (03:09)

"THIRST FOR DEATH" (Composed by Les Baxter)
11. Dracula’s Theme and Opening Narration / Mom to the Rescue (02:51)
12. The Treatment Goes On / Mary Fakes Out Kurt / Mary Escapes / Mary is Saved (03:09)
13. A Mother’s Choice / Tune In Next Week (05:30)

"PLEA FOR THE DAMNED" (Composed by Les Baxter)
14. Dracula’s Theme / Amanda’s Death (03:00)
15. Dracula Sleeps / Dracula's Journal / Destroying the Coffins (04:28)
16. Final Confrontation (02:00)
17. Dracula's Death / The End (03:40)