LIFEFORCE - Original Soundtrack by Henry Mancini and Michael Kamen



Now back in print for a limited time is the original soundtrack to the 1985 Sci-Fi thriller, LIFEFORCE, with music by Henry Mancini and Michael Kamen. 

The package contains the complete original score composed by Mancini, the additional music by Kamen, the Film Version of "Grandson of Web", in addition to the original soundtrack album.

Lifeforce was the film adaptation of the novel The Space Vampires, by Colin Wilson. Director Tobe Hooper (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Poltergeist), took some liberties with the story to tie it in to the reappearance of Halley's Comet. A space shuttle mission investigating the comet inadvertently brings back a race of space vampires to London who seek to transform the populace into zombies. Cannon Films, felt the title Space Vampires seemed too low budget and the film was renamed Lifeforce. 

In 1985 when the vampire science fiction film Lifeforce was in need of a composer, the Academy Award® winner Henry Mancini seemed an unlikely choice. But when Hooper's first choice, James Horner, hot off the heels of his work with the first two Star Trek films, proved unavailable, Mancini was brought on board.

Henry Mancini may best be recognized for his work with more lighthearted film fare, like Breakfast at Tiffany's and The Pink Panther film series, but earlier in his career Mancini was a member of the music department at Universal Pictures. As such he composed the scores for numerous horror and science fiction films like It Came From Outer Space, The Creature from the Black Lagoon, and The Monolith Monsters, which led Hooper to see if Mancini was interested in revisiting the genre. 

Mancini composed a provocative, dramatic and dynamic orchestral score, an hour and forty minutes of music, which mostly fell victim to the cutting room floor. When Mancini did not want to go back and compose new materials for the film, itself now 20 minutes shorter, Michael Kamen was called in to fill in the musical blanks. Kamen was an up-and-coming composer, having already completed scores for David Cronenberg (The Dead Zone) and Terry Gilliam (Brazil). 

LIFEFORCE - Complete Original Score
Composed and Conducted by Henry Mancini
1. Main Title: LIFEFORCE Theme 2:23
2. The Discovery (Parts 1-5) 16:00
3. Drained 0:59
4. Rescue Mission 4:24
5. The Vampire Lives 6:41
6. Nervous Time / No Longer Dangerous 1:43
7. Feeding Time 3:01
8. Wild Woman 1:33
9. Prelude To Carlson’s Story 0:39
10. Carlson’s Story 4:11
11. Carlson Sleeps 1:01
12. Evil Visitation 2:19
13. Energy Crisis 3:28
14. It’s Immense 1:42
15. Are You In There? 1:21
16. Let Me Go! 2:36
17. Chain Reaction 1:04
18. Anyone For Tums? 1:28
19. Horny Alien / London Burns 3:43
20. It’s Martial Law 2:07
21. Indian Giver 2:16
22. Call Of The Wild 1:59
23. House Of Blue Lights 1:14

1. Web Of Destiny 2:54
2. Son Of Web 3:06
3. Grandson Of Web: LIFEFORCE End Credits 7:39

LIFEFORCE - Additional Music
Composed and Conducted by Michael Kamen
4. Interior Alien Craft 1:21
5. Passage Of Time / Back 0:43
6. Rescue Mission 3:01
7. Guard Enters Autopsy Room /
Alien Girl-Eyes Open / Alien Girl Approaches Guard /
Guards React To Alien Girl / Window Blows Out 7:33
8. Caine’s Theme / Fallada’s Office / Int-Basement
Quarantine Room / Caine And Fallada Reaction &
Run To The Basement 3:43
9. After Autopsy 1:22
10. Hypnosis 1:12
11. London In Chaos 0:34

12. Grandson Of Web:
Film Version With Choir 4:11

Original Soundtrack Album
Produced by Henry Mancini
13. Theme 3:31
14. Visitation 2:17
15. Part. 1: Spacewalk 4:41
16. Part. 2: Into The Alien Craft 3:05
17. Part. 3: Exploration 2:46
18. Part. 4: Sleeping Vampires 2:54
19. Carlson’s Story 4:09
20. Girl In Raincoat 3:25
Web Of Destiny Suite
21. Web Of Destiny Part 1 2:53
22. Web Of Destiny Part 2 2:52
23. Web Of Destiny Part 3 4:09