Dragon's Domain Records


CD Includes Digital Download / Digital Booklet

Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE DAVID MICHAEL FRANK COLLECTION, Volume 3, featuring music composed by David Michael Frank (ABOVE THE LAW, POISON IVY, THE MOLE). This third collection of David Michael Frank’s film music includes music from A WILL OF THEIR OWN and ABOUT SARAH, two projects from the composer’s extensive filmography.

A WILL OF THEIR OWN is a television mini-series that debuted on NBC in October 1998. The plot chronicles the lives of six generations of females from a single family and their struggle for power and independence during an industrial-aging America from the 1890s through the 1980s. The cast boasts a bevy of talented female performers including Lea Thompson, Ellen Burstyn, Faye Dunaway, Sônia Braga, Reiko Aylesworth, and Charlotte Ross. A WILL OF THEIR OWN is a beautiful orchestral score and the composer considers it one of his favorites.

The same year he composed A WILL OF THEIR OWN, Frank composed the score for another made-for-television motion picture titled ABOUT SARAH. The film stars Mary Steenburgen as Sarah McCaffery, a mentally-challenged woman whose caretaker suddenly dies forcing Sarah’s daughter Mary Beth (Kellie Martin) to care for her. The score for ABOUT SARAH was recorded in Prague, Czech Republic, featuring Eric Rigler on Uilleann pipes whose masterful playing can be heard on film scores including BRAVEHEART, TITANIC, and ROAD TO PERDITION.

David Michael Frank was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland where he studied classical piano and composition at the Peabody Conservatory of Music. After graduating from Northwestern University, Frank moved to New York, where he became Broadway’s youngest conductor. After six years in New York, he relocated to California to pursue a career in film composition, where he’s scored numerous films of various types and over 200 episodes of television over more than forty years in media composition.

Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE DAVID MICHAEL FRANK COLLECTION, Volume 3, featuring the world premiere releases of A WILL OF THEIR OWN and ABOUT SARAH, digitally mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland, featuring liner notes written by author and composer Brian Satterwhite, with the participation of the composer.

THE DAVID MICHAEL FRANK COLLECTION, Volume 3 is a limited edition release of 500 units. THE DAVID MICHAEL FRANK COLLECTION, Volume 3 is expected to begin shipping the week of March 18th, 2024.

The first 50 copies ordered through the website will be autographed by the composer at no extra charge.

01. Opening (2:05)
02. The Mirror (1:23)
03. A Proper Burial (1:46)
04. Annie and William (1:51)
05. Passing The Mirror (1:39)
06. Annie Dies (1:26)
07. Freedom (1:50)
08. The Epidemic (1:56)
09. Amanda Turns 21 (2:02)
10. A Will Of Her Own (2:06)
11. Amanda and James (2:04)
12. Battlefield Requiem (1:35)
13. The Cruel City (2:49)
14. Nowhere To Run (2:39)
16. Sarah Turns 21 (3:08)
17. James’ Confessions (2:33)
18. The Wedding (1:38)
19. Amanda and Susan (2:05)
20. Sara Arrives In New York (1:22)
21. Amanda Comforts Susan (3:01)
22. 70 Years In Pictures (2:34)
23. Opening and Sarah Missing (1:33)
24. The Stowaway (2:11)
25. Grandma’s Death and Guardianship Passed (3:05)
26. Mike Meets Sarah (2:30)
27. Fairborn Institute (1:45)
28. The Locket and The Truth (2:17)
29. Marrying Johnny (2:04)
30. The Cemetary (2:06)
31. The Photo Album and Giving The Locket To Lyla (3:31)
32. Cornell and Finale (3:02)
Total Time: 69:39