Dragon's Domain Records


CD includes digital download / Digital PDF
Click here for Digital-Only Download

Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE LEE HOLDRIDGE COLLECTION, VOLUME 2 featuring music composed and conducted by Lee Holdridge (JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL, SPLASH, BEAUTY AND THE BEAST) for two feature films from his extensive filmography, AFRICA and e’LOLLIPOP.

Released in 1999, AFRICA tells the story of a drug-troubled fashion model struggling to survive after a harrowing car accident leaves her stranded in the African bush. Holdridge composed a sultry score featuring soprano sax infused with West African percussion and copious synthesizers for the project. However his score was ultimately not used in the finished film. As are a lot of film scores that are unceremoniously tossed out, Holdridge’s music for AFRICA is a worthy listening experience on its own.

Released in 1975, e’LOLLIPOP tells the tale of two young boys—a young white orphan named Jannie and a black boy from the local village named Tsepo who meet face-to-face in Apartheid-stricken South Africa. After his parents tragically perish in a car accident, Jannie is temporarily sent to a missionary station near Tsepo’s village until more permanent housing arrangements can be made. Jannie and Tsepo share a lollipop through the missionary window and immediately become inseparable friends. After a serious playtime injury threatens Jannie’s life, Tsepo, his fellow villagers, and the missionary doctors work tirelessly to proffer ten-year-old Jannie special medical treatment in the United States. Stricken with guilt, Tsepo takes it upon himself to travel to New York City in search of Jannie and aide his recovery. e’LOLLIPOP was directed by Ashley Lazarus starring José Ferrer, Karen Valentine, Norman Knox, and Muntu Ndebele. An alternate version of e’LOLLIPOP retitled FOREVER YOUNG, FOREVER FREE featuring a truncated version of the film was released to audiences in the United States.

Dragon’s Domain Records is excited to bring e’LOLLIPOP and AFRICA to compact disc for the first time as part of the LEE HOLDRIDGE COLLECTION, VOLUME 2, newly remastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland. The booklet includes exclusive liner notes written by author and composer Brian Satterwhite with the participation of the composer.

THE LEE HOLDRIDGE COLLECTION, VOLUME 2 is a limited edition release of 500 units. 

AFRICA (1999) (Music Inspired by the Film)
01. Africa Main Title (1:36)
02. Josh Worries / Leaving on a Jeep (1:48)
03. 2 Heavies / Night Driving (3:01)
04. Fuzzy Vision / Desolation / Campfire (4:24)
05. Thorns / Bedroom Flashback / The Village / Josh Worries Again (4:05)
06. Vicky’s Fed Up / Antelope Tartar (5:56)
07. Leaving the Tree / Lion Chase (4:10)
08. At The Waterfall / Elephants (2:48)
09. The Waterhole (3:34)
10. Everyone Leaves (2:15)
11. A Tire Track! (3:51)
12. Africa End Credits (2:40)

e’LOLLIPOP (1975) (Original Score)
13. Prologue (2:23)
14. Childhood Theme (2:10)
15. Schoolboy Pranks (1:40)
16. Carol Ann’s Theme (2:54)
17. Village Montage: Childhood Theme Reprise and Maluteng (3:35)
18. An American Girl in Africa (1:28)
19. Montage [The Boy’s Play / The Witchdoctor’s Premonition / The Accident] (2:29)
20. The Prayer (2:10)
21. At The Waterfall (1:10)
22. Tsepo’s Journey to New York (1:24)
23. Montage [Tsepo Gets Lost / Harlem Day / Harlem Night] (3:22)
24. The Chase (1:07)
25. Remembrance (0:33)
26. Pitsane (2:03)
27. The Running Away Montage (3:27)
28. Sugarball’s Rescue (0:46)
29. Finale [African Funeral / Traditional Hymn / Finale] (3:23)
Total Time: 77:30

Visit Lee Holdridge's website here: