Dragon's Domain Records


CD includes Digital Download / Digital Booklet
Click here for Digital-Only Download.

Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE PETER BERNSTEIN COLLECTION, VOLUME 4, featuring music composed by Peter Bernstein for two projects from his filmography, ALAMO: THIRTEEN DAYS TO GLORY and HAPPY FACE MURDERS.

Airing in 1987, ALAMO: 13 DAYS TO GLORY was a television miniseries later edited into a feature film about the 1836 Battle of the Alamo written and directed by Burt Kennedy, starring James Arness as James Bowie, Brian Keith as Davy Crockett, Alec Baldwin as William Barrett Travis, Raul Julia as Antonio López de Santa Anna, and featuring a single scene cameo by Lorne Greene as Sam Houston. Unlike most films about the Alamo, ALAMO: 13 DAYS TO GLORY focuses on Bowie as the main character rather than Crockett. The production was shot at Alamo Village, the Alamo replica built by John Wayne for his lavish 1960 film THE ALAMO.

HAPPY FACE MURDERS was directed by Brian Trenchard-Smith, written by John Pielmeier, starring Anne-Margret, Marg Helgenberger, Henry Thomas, Nicholas Campbell, Rick Peters, David Mcllwraith, Bruce Gray, J.C. MacKenzie, Emily Hampshire, Christina Collins and Sean Dick. Based on a true story, HAPPY FACE MURDERS aired in 1999 and tells the story of an eccentric older woman (Ann-Margret), who implicates her brutal & controlling lover in the murder of a young intellectually disabled girl. Absorbed with MURDER SHE WROTE and MATLOCK, she creates details of the murder from clues she picks up from the detectives (Helgenberger, Thomas) on the case. Implicating herself and sentenced to jail, she then recants her testimony. But no one believes her until clues surface from the real killer that he is still out there, has killed before, and will kill again, signing his messages with Happy Faces.

The son of Academy Award winning film composer Elmer Bernstein (THE MAN WITH THE GOLDEN ARM, THE TEN COMMANDMENTS, THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN, TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, GHOSTBUSTERS), Peter Bernstein grew up around recording stages, watching his father work and absorbing as much as he could. His musical education began with piano lessons. He eventually decided he wanted to be a bass player and studied bass with Carol Kaye, a member of the legendary ‘Wrecking Crew’ group of LA studio musicians. Around the same time, Peter was also studying with pioneering electronic music composer Morton Subotnick. He began his professional career as a rock n’ roll bass player at age 14 and worked in the record business as a touring bass player, band member, session player, arranger and record producer for the next 20 years. As time passed it became clear that there was going to be more opportunity for him as a composer and Peter began by working for other composers as an orchestrator and arranger. He orchestrated all or part of almost all of his father’s scores from 1974-1986, while still working in the rock n roll record business. Orchestration credits from the era include ANIMAL HOUSE, TRADING PLACES and GHOSTBUSTERS, as well as the scored portions of Michael Jackson’s THRILLER video. His credits as composer include HOT DOG… THE MOVIE, BOLERO, THE EWOK ADVENTURE, MY SCIENCE PROJECT, EWOKS: THE BATTLE FOR ENDOR, THE ALAMO: THIRTEEN DAYS TO GLORY, CANADIAN BACON and PUPPET MASTER VS DEMONIC TOYS. For television, his credits include 21 JUMP STREET, BOOKER, FALLEN ANGELS, CHICAGO HOPE, ROUGH RIDERS, MOWGLI: THE NEW ADVENTURES OF THE JUNGLE BOOK and HONEY, I SHRUNK THE KIDS: THE TV SHOW.

Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE PETER BERNSTEIN COLLECTION, VOLUME 4, featuring the premiere release of music composed by Peter Bernstein for ALAMO: THIRTEEN DAYS TO GLORY and HAPPY FACE MURDERS The music has been mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland and the liner notes have been written by composer and author Brian Satterwhite, with the participation of the composer.

THE PETER BERNSTEIN COLLECTION, VOLUME 4 is a limited edition release of 500 units. THE PETER BERNSTEIN COLLECTION, VOLUME 4 is expected to begin shipping the week of April 19th, 2023. Composer Peter Bernstein will sign the first 50 copies of THE PETER BERNSTEIN COLLECTION, VOLUME 4 sold through the website.

1. Danny and Lucia/The Fort (2:26)
2. Preparing The Fort/Santa Anna’s Tent (2:41)
3. Romance At Sunset (2:37)
4. Raising The Flag/What Are You Fighting For (2:54)
5. Riders Coming (3:09)
6. My Conscience Has Gotten Us Killed/Travis And The Baby (2:44)
7. Danny And Lucia Kiss (2:08)
8. All I Want Are Flames/Final Assault (2:23)
9. Defending The Alamo (2:49)
10. Bowie’s End/End Titles (1:57)
11. Danny and Lucia’s Wedding (2:10 )
12. Put On A Happy Face (2:10)
13. Main Theme (3:41)
14. Memories Of Tracy (1:24)
15. Danger At Home (2:53)
16. The Sentence (2:30)
17. Tracy’s Fate (3:07)
18. Talking To Billy (3:27)
19. The Purse (1:04)
20. We Got Him (1:17)
21. Finale (1:53)
Total Time: 52:19

Visit Peter Bernstein's website here: