Sorry, this item is out of stock

CD Comes With Digital Download / Digital Booklet
Click here for Digital-Only Download.

BSX Records presents a new release by composer Dennis McCarthy of various original pieces as well as interpretations of various classic tunes arranged for Solo Piano.

Included herein are new recordings of some of his film and television works from STAR TREK GENERATIONS, “V” THE SERIES, STAR TREK DEEP SPACE NINE and STAR TREK ENTERPRISE as well as arrangements of “When You Wish Upon a Star” from PINOCCHIO by Leigh Harline and “Over The Rainbow” from THE WIZARD OF OZ by Harold Arlen.

Among the classic standards featured are “Danny Boy,” an Irish tavern song by Frederick Weatherly, “That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)” by Beasley Smith, “Myself Times Two” by Mary Fengar Gail, “Summertime” by George Gershwin and a medley of compositions by Sergei Rachmaninoff.

Dennis McCarthy’s career has ranged from being a session keyboardist and musical director for Glen Campbell to composing Emmy award- winning scores for television’s “Star Trek” franchise. For more than 40 years, McCarthy has been an in-demand composer for films and television, scoring such shows as “V: The TV Series” (1984-85), “Dynasty” (1985-89), “McGyver” (1985-91), “Birdland” (1994), as well as made-for-TV movies such as “V: The Final Battle” (1984), “Overkill: The Aileen Wuornos Story” (1992), “In His Life: The John Lennon Story” (2000), and “A Modern Twain Story: The Prince and the Pauper” (2007). McCarthy gained prominence as one of the regular composers on “Star Trek: The Next Generation” beginning in 1987, and has continued in the same capacity for three subsequent Trek series (“Deep Space Nine,” “Voyager,” and “Enterprise”), as well as the seventh Star Trek feature film, “Generations” in 1994 and related media such as video games and shorts involving “Star Trek” characters. McCarthy’s efforts have gained him six Emmy Award nominations – and two wins, first in 1991 for his dramatic score to the “Unification, Part 1” episode of “Star Trek: the Next Generation,” and again in 1993 for his Main Title to “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.”

McCarthy also scored music for feature films, including “McHale’s Navy” (1997), “Letters from a Killer” (1998), and “Die, Mommy, Die” (2003). McCarthy has also scored theatrical plays in Southern California. He continues scoring film projects but takes more time off to spend with his wife Patty and three children and nine grandchildren. 

BSX Records is proud to release “Tunes of Future Past” by Dennis McCarthy. The production has been mixed by Matt LaPoint and mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland in Tacoma, Washington. The first 50 copies will be autographed by Dennis McCarthy at no additional charge.

1. Archer’s Piano (2:44)
2. Daddy (2:24)
3. Georgia (2:19)
4. Danny Boy (2:08)
5. Lucky Old Sun (2:50)
6. Myself Times Two (2:08)
7. When You Wish Upon A Star (2:32)
Written by Leigh Harline
8. Over The Rainbow (2:51)
Written by Harold Arlen
9. Summer Time (2:31)
10. Origina l(2:59)
11. Sierra Crest (4:10)
12. Rachmaninov Medley (4:00)
Written by Sergei Rachmaninov
13. Rings Of Saturn (5:22)
14. September 4 (3:37)
15. Elisabeth’s Theme From “V” (3:41)
16. Generations (2:34)
17. DS9 at 3 AM (5:10)
Total Time: 54:39