THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA - Original Soundtrack by Fredric Ensign Teetsel and Chuck Cirino

Dragon's Domain Records


CD includes Digital Download/Digital PDF
Click here for Digital-Only Download.

Dragon’s Domain Records presents the original motion picture soundtrack to THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA, featuring music composed by Fredric Ensign Teetsel, with additional themes by Chuck Cirino, for the 1990 horror film produced by Roger Corman, directed by Jim Wynorski, written by R.J. Robertson, based on a story by Edgar Allan Poe, starring Nicole Eggert, David McCallum, Christopher Halsted, Lana Clarkson, Maria Ford, Gail Thackray, Clement von Franckenstein and Deborah Dutch.

THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA is very loosely based on Edgar Allan Poe’s short story “Morella,” written in 1835 and revised in 1839. In Poe’s story, Morella is a woman who dies in childbirth but her spirit re-inhabits the body of her young daughter only to have the child die young, returning Morella’s spirit into death along with her. Corman filmed a short version of the story as part of his 1962 anthology film TALES OF TERROR. Scripted by Richard Matheson, this loosely adapted version of “Morella” gave the daughter a name: Lorena. THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA modified the story further, retaining the daughter’s name Lorena, but setting the story in the midst of Colonial America as Morella is crucified for witchcraft, leaving her infant daughter in the care of her widower. Resurrected through blood sacrifices offered by her daughter’s governess, Morella is able to take over Lorena’s body and use it to achieve a physical resurrection. THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA harkens back to Corman’s acclaimed Edgar Allan Poe films—THE FALL OF THE HOUSE OF USHER, THE PIT AND THE PENDULUM, THE TOMB OF LIGEIA, THE HAUNTED PALACE, and others from the 1960s.

Dragon’s Domain Records is excited to bring THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA to compact disc for the first time, mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland with exclusive liner notes by author Randall Larson, with the participation of the composers.

THE HAUNTING OF MORELLA is a limited edition release of 500 units. As a special offer, the first 50 people to order the album from the record label’s website will have their copy autographed by the composers at no additional charge.

1. The Haunting of Morella: Main Title (6:38)
2. Gideon’s Eyes / Morella’s Portrait (1:48)
3. Goodnight Morella (0:58)
4. The Diary (4:30)
5. Not a Living Soul (1:32)
6. Don’t Leave, Don’t Go (4:10)
7. They Meet (2:30)
8. Lenora, Guy and the Tomb (7:20)
9. I Still Live (5:02)
10. Lenora’s Seduction (4:37)
11. Lenora’s Etude (2:39)
12. The Waterfall (2:39)
13. The Mirror (3:18)
14. Lenora’s Nightmare (3:10)
15. Morella’s Sacrement (1:24)
16. Another Victim (2:24)
17. Lenora Descends Into the Tomb (4:58)
18. Finale (3:54)
Total Time: 64:14

Visit Chuck Cirino's Website Here: