Dragon's Domain Records


CD includes Digital Download / Digital Booklet
Click here for Digital-Only Download

Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE MORTON STEVENS COLLECTION, Volume 1 featuring music from two films from the composer’s extensive filmography.

Airing on television in 1974, THE DISAPPEARANCE OF FLIGHT 412 was written by George Simpson and Neal R. Burger, directed by Jud Taylor, starring Glenn Ford, Bradford Dillman, David Soul, Robert F. Lyons, Guy Stockwell, Greg Mullavey, Stanley Bennett Clay, Jonathan Goldsmith, Jack Ging, Ken Kercheval and Jesse Vint. THE DISAPPEARANCE OF FLIGHT 412 is a science fiction film, presented in a documentary style and tells the story of the crew of an Air Force jet that witnesses the disappearance of two other fighter jets that are scrambled to intercept a UFO as the military is determined to cover up the incident.

Broadcast on NBC in 1977, THE STRANGE POSSESSION OF MRS. OLIVER was written by Richard Matheson (THE LAST MAN ON EARTH, DUEL, THE LEGEND OF HELL HOUSE) , directed by Gordon Hessler (THE OBLONG BOX, CRY OF THE BANSHEE, THE GOLDEN VOYAGE OF SINBAD), starring Karen Black, George Hamilton, Robert F. Lyons, Lucille Benson, Jean Allison, Charles Cooper, Danna Hansen and Macon McCalman. THE STRANGE POSSESSION OF MRS. OLIVER tells the story of Miriam Oliver (Black), a beleaguered wife tired of her mundane life with her husband, Greg (Hamilton), Seeking an escape from her oppressive lifestyle, Miriam dons a new identity, referring to herself as ‘Sandy’. But it turns out that this Sandy may exist and her personality may be taking over Miriam’s...

Both scores are excellent examples of Morton Stevens’ ability to create tension, action, and characterization within the sonic boundaries of paranormal mood and poignant mystery. Both were performed with what sounds like a chamber group of about twenty-four players, an ensemble Stevens was familiar with and adept at coordinating.

Born In Newark, New Jersey in 1929, Morton Stevens studied composition at the Juilliard School and became the arranger and later, the musical director, for Sammy Davis, Jr., Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Liza Minnelli. He also served as music director for CBS and was a prolific composer and arranger for television for over 30 years. Best known for the famous theme music for HAWAII FIVE-0, for which he won two Emmys, Stevens contributed music to many television shows, including GUNSMOKE, POLICE WOMAN, THRILLER, WAGON TRAIN, THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E., CIMARRON STRIP, THE WILD WILD WEST and TINY TOON ADVENTURES. Stevens also served on the board of directors for the Academy Of Television Arts And Sciences. Surprisingly, he only scored a few feature films including ACT OF PIRACY, THEY STILL CALL ME BRUCE, CRACKING UP and THE RAIDERS. Stevens scored 101 TV movies and nine motion pictures in a three-decade career that began in the early 1960s and ran until 1990. A former student of Jerry Goldsmith, he co-scored the 1981 miniseries MASADA and Arthur Hayley’s WHEELS in 1978, for which he both received Emmy nominations.

Dragon’s Domain Records presents the premiere soundtrack release of THE MORTON STEVENS COLLECTION, Volume 1, featuring music composed by Morton Stevens for THE DISAPPEARANCE OF FLIGHT 412 and THE STRANGE POSSESSION OF MRS. OLIVER. The liner notes are written by noted author Randall Larson. The music has been mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland.

THE MORTON STEVENS COLLECTION, Volume 1 is a limited edition release of 500 units and is expected to begin shipping the week of May 15th, 2023.

1. Opening Prologue (1:07)
2. Col. Moore Arrives (1:16)
3. Three Unidentified Blips / Jets Disappear (2:44)
4. To Arizona (2:37)
5. Interrogation (1:24)
6. Bishop Sneaks Around The Base (2:43)
7. Breaking The Flight Crew (2:32)
8. Moore Brings The Men Home (2:34)
9. Epilogue and End Credits (2:45)

10. First Funeral Nightmare (3:45)
11. Gray and Black Clothes /Greg Sees Miriam’s New Look (6:25)
12. The Next Morning / Harbor Drive (1:44)
13. A New Woman (2:39)
14. Second Funeral Nightmare (1:16)
15. The Painting (3:07)
16. Flood Of Memories / Letting Go Of Miriam (7:11)
17. Disco Source A (3:19)
18. Disco Source B (Venus) (1:37)
19. Dive Bar Source (4:58)
Total Time: 56:34