PISTON: Symphony No. 6; Concerto For Orchestra; Concertino for Piano and Orchestra; Concerto for String Quartet, Winds and Percussion

Citadel Records

SKU: CTD88134

CD includes Digital Download / Digital Booklet
Click here for Digital-Only Download.

BSX Records, in association with Citadel Records presents PISTON: SYMPHONY #6 as performed by the Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Alexander Gauk. This collection also features several other classical works by Walter Piston, which include the Concertino for Piano and Chamber Orchestra performed by the Gotesburg Symphony Orchestra, conducted by William Strickland with Marjorie Mitchell on piano, Concerto for Orchestra as performed by the Polish National Radio Orchestra, conducted by William Strickland and finally, Concerto for String Quartet, Wind Instruments and Percussion as performed by the Juilliard Orchestra, with the Emerson String Quartet conducted by Sixten Ehrling.

Symphony No. 6:
1. Fluendo espressivo 7:25
2. Scherzo: Leggerissimo vivace 3:18
3. Adagio sereno 10:56
4. Allegro energico 3:55
Concertino for Piano and Orchestra:
5. In One Movement 12:34
Concerto for Orchestra:
6. I. Allegro moderato ma energico 3:13
7. II. Allegro vivace 3:58
8. III. Adagio - Allegro moderato 5:37
Concerto for String Quartet, Wind Instruments and Percussion:
9. In One Movement Confuoco / Lento / Allegro energico 10:00

TT: 61:55