SECOND TIME LUCKY - Original Soundtrack by Garry McDonald and Laurie Stone

Dragon's Domain Records


(CD comes W/Free Digital Download/Digital booklet)
Click here for Digital-Only Download.


Dragon’s Domain Records presents the soundtrack release of SECOND TIME LUCKY, featuring music composed by Garry McDonald and Laurie Stone (ROBBERY UNDER ARMS, THE FLYING DOCTORS, OCEAN GIRL, SAHARA) for the 1984 comedy directed by Michael Anderson (THE DAM BUSTERS, LOGAN’S RUN, AROUND THE WORLD IN EIGHTY DAYS), written by Allan Burns (GET SMART), D. Howard Grigsby, David Sigmund and Ross Dimsey, starring Diane Franklin (BETTER OFF DEAD, LAST AMERICAN VIRGIN), Roger Wilson, Jon Gadsby (A WEEK OF IT), Robert Helpmann (THE RED SHOES, PATRICK), Robert Morley (TOPKAPI, THEATRE OF BLOOD) and John Michael Howson.

The plot of SECOND TIME LUCKY is that the Devil (Helpmann) makes a wager with God (Morley) to see if his first couple, Adam (Wilson) and Eve (Franklin), would sin again if they were put in the same position in the Garden of Eden. The film follows Adam and Eve as they are reincarnated in different historical periods, such as ancient Rome, France during World War I, Chicago during the Roaring 20’s and finally as glam rock stars in the late 1970s, all to see if they would prove obedient this time around. Originally slated to direct the film was John Derek, who had in mind his wife Bo Derek to play the Eve role, but ultimately veteran Hollywood director Michael Anderson found himself Down Under in the director’s chair. Ginnane’s TREASURE OF THE YANKEE ZEPHYR was filmed in New Zealand, where the country’s tax advantages then allowed for significant financial savings to productions that were filmed there, so it was arranged to have the film shot as a New Zealand production.

The Australian composing team of Garry McDonald and Lawrence “Laurie” Stone were hired by producer Antony I. Ginanne to compose the film’s score. The two both began their careers as successful performers and songwriters in classical, jazz, rock, and electronic music in the late 1970s. McDonald went on to study classical composition in Queensland (Australia) and Los Angeles, where he studied with Lalo Schifrin, Henry Mancini, and Nelson Riddle; meanwhile Stone gained a reputation as an outstanding sound engineer for popular records. The two joined forces in 1980. SECOND TIME LUCKY was their fourth assignment and first feature film. Taking advantage of the resources of a 55-piece orchestra and 20-voice choir, the composers created a full-blooded symphonic score full of enough raging gusto and romantic pathos to enrich each of the film’s time-changing segments with energy and earnestness. The score features a marvelous love theme that follows the couple throughout the eras and serves as the connective tissue of their star-crossed romance in all its trials, trysts, and tribulations.

Garry McDonald studied classical composition and orchestration at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music before moving to the U.S. in 1980, where he completed Graduate Diploma studies in Film Composing and Conducting at the Dick Grove Music Academy in Los Angeles. This followed earlier work as a jazz & rock musician, songwriter and arranger throughout Australia and in Southeast Asia.
Lawrence "Laurie" Stone achieved national success during the late 70's and early 80's as one of Australia's foremost pop and rock music composer/performers, appearing with his bands on many national music TV programs. During this time he won numerous instrumental and songwriting awards. Coupled with his expertise in the fields of electronic music and sound engineering, this has caused Laurie to be recognized as one of Australia's most experienced and successful music producers.

The composers have worked with international studios such as Warner Bros., Paramount, MGM and Disney, as well as with major local production companies. McDonald and Stone have composed scores for feature films, television films and series, documentaries and animated productions.
Previously released on compact disc by 1M1 Records in the early 1990s, Dragon’s Domain Records is excited to bring SECOND TIME LUCKY back to the marketplace again, newly remastered by Digital Outland, with exclusive liner notes written by author Randall Larson.

01. Heaven 1:55
02. Adam is Chosen/Romp in Eden/
Eve Meets the Snake 6:00
03. First Night in Eden 2:31
04. Adam and Eve Bite the Apple 5:18
05. Adameus Enters Rome 1:53
06. The Orgy 1:56
07. Nuptial Couch 2:56
08. War 2:31
09. The Race, The Germans
and the Good Guys 1:22
10. Visit in the Cell /
Execution and Victory 4:40
11. The Bust 1:46
12. Adam Rejects Evie 2:42
13. Adam and Eve
After the Rehearsal 2:10

14. Eve Dies/Divine Intervention/
The Door and the Apple 4:06
Total Time: 42:17